The Faraday Club

The Faraday Club has been formed in order to establish the highest standards for the communication of science in the way demonstrated so outstandingly by Michael Faraday himself. Membership is by invitation to those who have significantly advance the field by practical innovation and achievement.

The Faraday Club was the brainchild of Howie Firth, Director of the Orkney International Science Festival and outstanding science communicator. Howie thought that the recognition of those who communicate science, particularly through the medium of demonstrations, festivals and science shows, was deserving of an international award. In honour of Michael Faraday, the Club was formed in 2010. To see member profiles and the citations for their award of Membership, click on their names.

Members of the Faraday Club

Founding members

Howie Firth, Orkney International Science Festival, Scotland
Michael Gore, The Australian National University, Australia

Elected members

Paul Doherty, the Exploratorium, San Francisco, USA
Graham Durant, Questacon – the Australian National Science and Technology Centre, Canberra, Australia
Edvard Kobal, Slovenian Science Foundation, Slovenia
Thanakorn Palachai, The National Science Museum, Bangkok, Thailand
Moshe Rishpon, The Weizmann Institute, Israel
Wendy Sadler, science made simple, Cardiff, Wales
Ken Skeldon, University of Aberdeen
Tom Stevenson, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland
Sue Stocklmayer, The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia